BREAKING NEWS: Buhari wins APC Presidential Ticket with 3430 votes

By  | 

General Muhammedu Buhari has emerged the winner of the APC ongoing primaries, recorded 3430 Presidential Primaries in Lagos, which made him the winner of the APC primaries. Buhari wins with 3430 votes Kwankwaso polled more votes than Atiku with 974 votes Atiku Abubakar scores 954 votes, Owelle Rochas Okorocha polled 624 votes Mr. Sam Nda-Isaiah gets only 10 votes He defeated Kano state governor, Rabiu Kwankwaso who had 974; former Vice
President, Atiku Abubakar had 954 votes; Imo state governor, Rochas Okorocha had 624 and Publisher of Leadership newspapers, Nda-Isaiah with 10 votes.

A total of 7,214 delegates were accredited to vote at the convention attended by the leaders of the opposition party. Mr. Buhari, 72, was Nigeria’s military leader between December 31, 1983 and August 27,
1985. With his victory, Mr. Buhari, 72, will now face President Goodluck Jonathan, whose adoption was ratified by the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, at its special convention in the early hours of Thursday, in the February 14 presidential election.

Also Read:  Nigeria Shouldn't be divided by election - UN

It would also be the fourth time the former military leader will be running for president of which he lost in all three previous ones. In 2003, Mr. Buhari contested on the platform of the defunct All Nigeria Peoples Party, ANPP, against former President Olusegun Obasanjo of the PDP. He polled 12, 710,022 votes representing 32.17 per cent to Mr. Obasanjo’s 24,456,140 or 61.94 per cent. In 2007, he ran again on the platform of the same party against the then outgoing governor of his home state, Katsina, Umaru Yar’Adua. He secured mere 6,605,299 votes or 18.72 per cent to Mr. Yar’Adua’s 26,638,063 or 69.82 per cent.

Also Read:  New Ebola Case Confirmed In Liberia As Outbreak Spreads

A few months after he and some of his loyalists dumped the ANPP to float a new party, the Congress for Progressive Congress, CPC, in 2011, Mr. Buhari threw his hat into the
presidential ring again. He contested against Mr. Jonathan but polled 12, 214,853 to the president’s 22,495,187 votes. The February 14 presidential election will therefore be a replay of the 2011 electoral battle as both Buhari and Jonathan will also feature again in the contest.

Blogger | Web designer | Graphics Designer | C.E.O.|07060489228

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.